2018 Spring Meeting

Congratulations to all of our 2018 Otto Zenke Student Design Competition
and Excellence in Design Award Winners

March 24, 2018 | 9:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Embassy Suites Charlotte/Ayrsley
1917 Ayrsley Town Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28273

Excellence in Design Award Winners

The Saturday, March 24th Excellence in Design Gala was full of incredible designers and members of ASID Carolinas, great food, fantastic networking and time to enjoy the beautiful winning projects. From all over the Carolinas, designers submitted the best of the best. Please click the link below to view the Winners Gallery:


ASID Carolinas Otto Zenke Student Design Competition

Each year, this competition asks students to design an awe-inspiring project based on certain criteria for the judges to consider. This award gives both scholars and their programs the opportunity to showcase their creativity, professionalism and the chance to win scholarship money along with recognition throughout the Carolinas.

This year, students were asked to assume the role of an interior designer - a sole proprietor of a firm which specializes in design of bed & breakfast inns with a strong support for Universal and Sustainable Design philosophies. This designer was tasked to complete the conceptual and schematic design phases for a three level B&B that includes common spaces plus six guest bedrooms located in Asheville, NC.

The judges were asked to score each entry based on codes, accessibility, concept, life safety, egress, space planning and programming. Based on these criteria the winners of the 2017-18 Otto Zenke awards are:

  • Kailey Cox -- FIRST PLACE & $1,000
  • Winthrop University -- FIRST PLACE & $1,000
  • Hannah Harrelson --  SECOND PLACE & $750
  • Briana Garris --  SECOND PLACE & $750
  • Morgan Soto --  THIRD PLACE & $500
  • Bianca J. Davila Denizard -- HONORABLE MENTION

Check out the ASID Carolinas Instagram & Facebook pages to catch up on all the fun from the March 24th Spring Meeting and Gala!

Congratulations to all of our award winners!